Safe Work Australia calls for entries in international Good Design Award

Safe Work Australia will again partner with Good Design Australia to present the 2018 Safe Work Australia Award for Good Design. 

The award underlines how good design can support work health and safety by improving the design of products, structures, equipment and substances, work processes and systems.

“We are delighted to be continuing our support of this award,” said Safe Work Australia CEO Michelle Baxter.

“Focusing on health and safety in the design process helps eliminate hazards and risks before they enter the workplace.” 

The award will be judged against specific criteria including safety in construction, use and maintenance, safety innovation and health and safety impact.

The annual Good Design Awards program is one of the oldest and most prestigious international design awards in the world, promoting excellence in design and innovation since 1958. 

“Good design has the transformative power to create better and more efficient products, services and spaces. Our world needs good design now more than ever. Ultimately, we see design contributing to a better society and a more sustainable and prosperous world,” said Dr Brandon Gien, CEO of Good Design Australia.

The Good Design Award categories encompass product, service, digital, communication, architectural and business model design, and social innovation and entries are judged by a panel of industry experts from specialist fields. 

For more information and to submit an entry, see the Good Design Awards website. Online registrations close Friday, 9 March 2018. 

Award winners will be announced on 17 May 2018. 

Past winners of the Safe Work Australia Award for Good Design include Bombardier Transportation Australia for their Melbourne tram LRV E-Class Design Enhancement using ergonomic design features to enhance both driver and public safety in 2017, and Makinex Construction Products for their powered hand truck enabling one person to safely lift and load goods up to 140kg, in 2016.


Source link


Leave a Reply