Safe Work Australia welcomes new Chair

9 February 2016

Safe Work Australia’s Chief Executive Officer Michelle Baxter today welcomed the appointment of Ms Diane Smith-Gander as Chair of Safe Work Australia.

“Ms Smith-Gander brings to the role an extensive background in high-level executive positions.”

“Safe Work Australia Members and I look forward to working with Ms Smith-Gander to deliver our strategic objectives to improve work health and safety and workers’ compensation arrangements across Australia over the next three years,” Ms Baxter said.

A childhood experience of her father’s workplace injury was the seed of her passion for improving workplace safety and she has taken active governance and operational roles in this area throughout her career.

Ms Smith-Gander is Chairman of Broadspectrum Limited, non-executive director of Wesfarmers Limited, a CEDA board member and President of Chief Executive Women. She has held senior roles with Westpac Banking Coorporation and McKinsey & Company.

Ms Baxter also thanked outgoing Chair, Ms Ann Sherry AO, for her significant contribution to Safe Work Australia during her three year tenure.

“Ms Sherry showed strong leadership and a collaborative approach to help Safe Work Australia develop national policy to drive real improvements in workplace safety performance across Australia,” said Ms Baxter.

Ms Smith-Gander was appointed by the Minister for Employment, Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash for a period of three years.

For more information visit the Safe Work Australia website.

Source link


Leave a Reply